faith

“Now we shall possess a right definition of faith if we call it a firm and certain knowledge of God’s benevolence toward us, founded upon the truth of the freely given promise in Christ, both revealed to our minds and sealed upon our hearts through the Holy Spirit…..If then, we would be assured that God is pleased with and kindly disposed toward us, we must fix our eyes…on Christ…We see that our whole salvation and all its parts are comprehended in Christ.  We should therefore take care not to derive the least portion of it from anywhere else.”

John Calvin

I need faith. We all need faith. Anyone that takes a step back to look at life can see the injustice of the world, the improbability of success, the blessings of God that we do not deserve. I take a step back every new year and spend some time alone evaluating the last year and praying/planning for the next. This year when I spent the holiday with friends at a wonderful mountain cabin in the smokies I had several things on my mind. Among them my wonderful family, the upcoming soccer season, and the uncertainty of life.

snowmen from hiking in the smokies

My family is quite wonderful. A few highlights from the Christmas Holiday included one of my stocking stuffers. On my posted Christmas list on the blog (see the post entitled “how the world turns”) I listed needing a crocheting needle since I’d lost 2 needles in one of my eight moves in the last couple years. My mom sneakily got me a needle (in the perfect color – GREEN) and snuck it in my stocking with everything else. Thats love right there. So small and seemingly insignificant, but sweet love.

A second family highlight is how awesome my brothers are. Not to make a short story long, but I enjoy our adult relationships: where we can fight fair and work through real issues in life, have forgiveness for the mistakes we make, learn, converse and discuss things happening in the world. It was hard, sweet, and refreshing all at the same time.  (I could go on and on about my Dad too, but I’ll save that for another post)

On the upcoming season and the uncertainty of life…

Faith is the gift from God to know that God sent love to us. I can be a doubter. I can doubt this season will go well. I can doubt I’ll find a team, or a job, or a life that I love. Or I can trust that God has good intended for me, not because I love him so well or am so great of a person, but because He loved me while I was a sinner. Its crazy love at that. But I have faith that soccer or no soccer, coaching or not coaching, working or not enjoying my work, living or suffering that Jesus loves me. Not in a far off “I won’t punish you too much” kind of way, but in a “if you’d get past yourself for a minute and saw how much I(God) love you you’d never be the same” kind of love.

This New Year time for me was refreshing to get away, relax, rest, play with friends, sleep, pray, read, make lots of fires… Taking a step back to get a focus on life, to reaffirm the path I’m on to pursue soccer as long as makes sense and then move on to giving the game back to others what has meant so much to me. I am hoping that it will be a long while till that happens, but as we all know…

Life is uncertain. Live it on purpose.

3 Responses to faith

  1. Ingrid Green says:

    Indeed, we all place faith in something. I appreciate your courage to express your beliefs. Thanks for that.

    I live in Canada and avid follower of the Women’s Pro Soccer league in the US.. I’m launching a women’s soccer chat in Twitter. I’m interested in the big picture + educating fans about women’s soccer BEYOND the U.S. There’s more to women’s soccer than Americans, being ranked #1, with a pro league limping along.

    I’d love to have you as a guest on my Twitter chat. Please let me know if you’re open to that. Thanks!

    @Ingridium

Leave a Reply

