top five places I love in Auburn

Everyone has top ten lists, but for me today it is about the five things this team, university, city that gave me 5 going on 6 great years.

1. Toomer’s Coffee – I have spent more time here than anyplace else except the soccer field. If I could I would live here. The atmosphere, comfy couches, and not to mention amazing coffee is the ideal spot for a chill evening or lengthy study session.  My favorite drink is the Chocolate Turtle, medium of course; or for a simple cup o’ joe try the Southern Pecan flavored coffee. See http://www.toomerscoffee.com/ for more info!

2. Auburn Soccer Complex – This was my home for the last five years. There is nothing like watching a sunset over the field while the brilliant vivid colors fade into the evening sky that was painted just for you and me to see. Or watching the stars on a clear night. Still, most of my memories are of Friday nights or Sunday afternoons competing for a championship. So many memories that I will cherish forever, like my favorite family photo when all my brothers came down for a game with my parents. I mean how often do you get three ALABAMA fans into orange and blue?

I couldn't find the pic of my whole family. These were all our schools at the time of the picture. They all ended up being at Alabama.

I couldn't find the pic of my whole family. These were all our schools at the time of the picture. They all ended up being at Alabama.

3. Town Creek Park – a small little place my friend found one day searching for a place to relax and listen to music or maybe read a little of the good ol’ book. There are several park benches, picnic tables, and swings scattered about. It doesn’t look like much when you drive up, but walk back on either of two paths into the woods for a nice wide pathway to walk, run, or bike on. The path leads around a small pond filled with fish turtles and the occasional fowl, which is typically a duck and goose playing together. The path does wind through the woods and back out to a Tree Walk with various foliage labeled for your educational value. For the more active, there is an open field for frisbee, softball, or a nice game of fetch with your pup.

4. Chewacla State Park – I love camping… especially the kind where you get to drive up and unload all the goodies from your friend’s SUV. I do like to pack in, but then you can’t carry the chips, hotdogs, mustard, salsa, chocolate, gram crackers, marshmallows, chairs, guitar, air mattresses, and pillows. Camping trips, hiking, bouldering, playing in waterfalls, and swimming in the lake were all awesome, but the people make the experiences what they were.

*DISCLAIMER*  Playing on rocks is not advised for anyone with elidgabilty left*

*DISCLAIMER* Playing on rocks is not advised for anyone with eligibility left*

5. Tuskegee – Again the camping trips here could never be outdone. With good friends, FCA, or just a quick trip to climb the firetower after midnight on a Wednesday before a major test.

Leave a Reply

